Skip to main content

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 (2015) - Review


AH FINALLY!! Here we are at the end of another saga. Been waiting a long time to watch it, and honestly, disappointed by it.

So the movie starts from where Mockingjay Part 1 left off and this is where everything has been leading up-to, the fall of the capitol regime on the hands of the united districts. The rebellion aspect of this series has always been my favourite thing about it and there are some pretty great moments regarding it. On the other side, Katniss has to deal with peeta's mental issues and the ongoing love triangle, UGHH, and of course her contribution to the war.

Now, performances, like the previous parts, were again mostly great. Jennifer Lawrence again did a great job as Katniss.

The points where the movie really shined for me were the war moments, showing both sides, the horrors of it, it was all really good stuff. Like I said before, the rebellion aspect of this series is my favourite thing and when the movie gave me those moments, I loved it. This movie has a really serious tone, which complements the story greatly.

There were a couple of good action set pieces, especially the under ground sewer scene, although it did took me out of the movie a bit. What I mean is that with all the realistic and serious portrayal of war and rebellion etc, something like that scene felt a bit contradictory. Still entertaining though.

There were a fair share of issues with this film for me. The splitting of the book remnants were here as well. Part 1 had some really slow scenes and they carried over here too and they really bogged down the pacing at times. Also, the love triangle, albeit not so profound, was still something that lingered here and there and was annoying whenever it was brought up. There were some predictable scenes as well, especially the ending. And speaking of the ending, my god what an anticlimatic way to end a saga. Not only did it went on for far too long, it became a borefest. While I liked the idea behind the most of the ending, they surely could have ended in a far more better way. And I really wished we could have gotten some front line war action scenes, I mean everything was building upto this, the least they could have done was to show some of the war instead of totally sidelining it.

Overall, it was a disappointing experience for me, but one of those rare ones where you still end up liking the movie overall, while the disappointment prevails. Just wishing that they could have handled somethings differently, could have made for such a better experience. If you are a fan of the franchise, obviously give it a go.

7/10

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Central Intelligence (2016) - Movie Review

Central Intelligence is sorta of a buddy-spy comedy and it's about an average joe hung up on life over past issues, until he meets up with one of his high school batch mate, and things suddenly turn upside down for him. A movie like this only works if the two leads meld together, and boy oh boy did they ever in this movie. Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart both were excellent in this movie. I loved their chemistry, their banter and their relationship. They clearly seemed to be having a great time in their roles, and as a result, the movie as a whole became a lot more fun. Also, I liked it more that they weren't playing their usual selves. It was just hilarious to see The Rock play this man-child agent, he always manages to bring so much energy into every role. And Kevin Hart dialed back a lot. He was the average joe, the normal guy in this movie and I liked that. You do still get the usual Kevin hart outbursts/moments, in small doses. Aside from these two, there was a...

Shin Godzilla (2016) - Movie Review

Shin Godzilla is the newest Godzilla film from Toho, the studio behind the Japanese Godzilla films dating back all the way to 1954. This one is a reboot of the franchise, yet again, for the contemporary Japan and the plot is basically what you'd expect; Godzilla arrives and wreaks havoc, all the while the Government tries to defeat it. Since the original Godzilla was inspired by the effects and scars from the WWII Atomic Bombings on Japan by USA, and how destructive and horrifying that power is, this one is similar and was inspired by the 2011 Japan Earthquake and Tsunami, and the Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant disaster, all the while being disguised in a monster movie. Godzilla in this movie instills a sense of dread and fear as this indestructible monster with the power to lay waste to everything, a biological TERROR, and I really liked that about this movie. The way its proper form looked, particularly the head, was unsettling and that was the movie's intention, so ...

Spartacus (2010) - TV Series Review (Complete)

Spartacus is a surprising series for me. I first watched it when there were only two seasons out, and back then it was kinda OK for me. Now, after re-watching the first two seasons along with the rest, I found it to be a pretty good series, great even. The series is about Spartacus and how he journey's from being a free man to a gladiator, and then to a leader. The whole series is structured in such a way that their is an overall forward progression with each season focused on a specific part. This results in focus on each area and ultimately they all come together quite nicely. Also, the series is divided into spartacus' related scenes and the roman leaders etc related scenes, developing both sides, side by side, throughout. This not only makes it easy to develop a large number of characters, it also develops both sides and not making it plain black and white. It makes things more interesting, and makes some outcomes way more satisfying. There are A LOT of characters t...