Skip to main content

The 5th Wave (2016) - Review


The 5th Wave is a yet another YA novel adaptation and is about a girl trying to survive with her family when human race is devastated by an alien force, attacking in waves of different types of eradication measures. Now, when it comes to movies based on YA novels, I tend to be a lot more lenient than others from what I've seen. And just like that, I watched this movie with an open mind, despite knowing about the horrible critical reception it got. And well, it really is SHIT!!

The movie starts off pretty OK, and the whole different waves stuff was kinda cool to see but it lasts for like 10-15 mins, after which the movie nosedives to an ever increasing oblivion of mediocrity. The acting was bad, Chloe Grace Moretz starring in this movie gave me some hope cause I like her but even she was bad. The action sucked, there was no tension whatsoever and it was bland. The pacing was painfully slow, I was bored AF at times.

The story was really predictable as well. The big twist was so apparent that I saw it coming a mile away. I kept hoping that maybe the movie will pick up the pace or get better a bit, but nope. One of the main characters got an army code-name of Zombie, which was funny cause the dude looked and acted like a zombie through most of the movie. :p

Since it is a YA adaptation, there has to be some sort of romance and boy was it lame and rushed. One moment they just begin getting acquainted and the next they're kissing, like WTF!! Plus, a love triangle is sorta there, and is obviously gonna be a big thing in the sequel, if they make it.

Anyway, I hoped that it will have some good things in it but the movie made it really difficult for me to find any. The okay-ish opening is the only somewhat decent thing in the movie. I can't believe with the setting they have, how in the hell did they made it so boring.

3/10

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Shin Godzilla (2016) - Movie Review

Shin Godzilla is the newest Godzilla film from Toho, the studio behind the Japanese Godzilla films dating back all the way to 1954. This one is a reboot of the franchise, yet again, for the contemporary Japan and the plot is basically what you'd expect; Godzilla arrives and wreaks havoc, all the while the Government tries to defeat it. Since the original Godzilla was inspired by the effects and scars from the WWII Atomic Bombings on Japan by USA, and how destructive and horrifying that power is, this one is similar and was inspired by the 2011 Japan Earthquake and Tsunami, and the Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant disaster, all the while being disguised in a monster movie. Godzilla in this movie instills a sense of dread and fear as this indestructible monster with the power to lay waste to everything, a biological TERROR, and I really liked that about this movie. The way its proper form looked, particularly the head, was unsettling and that was the movie's intention, so ...

Central Intelligence (2016) - Movie Review

Central Intelligence is sorta of a buddy-spy comedy and it's about an average joe hung up on life over past issues, until he meets up with one of his high school batch mate, and things suddenly turn upside down for him. A movie like this only works if the two leads meld together, and boy oh boy did they ever in this movie. Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart both were excellent in this movie. I loved their chemistry, their banter and their relationship. They clearly seemed to be having a great time in their roles, and as a result, the movie as a whole became a lot more fun. Also, I liked it more that they weren't playing their usual selves. It was just hilarious to see The Rock play this man-child agent, he always manages to bring so much energy into every role. And Kevin Hart dialed back a lot. He was the average joe, the normal guy in this movie and I liked that. You do still get the usual Kevin hart outbursts/moments, in small doses. Aside from these two, there was a...

Spartacus (2010) - TV Series Review (Complete)

Spartacus is a surprising series for me. I first watched it when there were only two seasons out, and back then it was kinda OK for me. Now, after re-watching the first two seasons along with the rest, I found it to be a pretty good series, great even. The series is about Spartacus and how he journey's from being a free man to a gladiator, and then to a leader. The whole series is structured in such a way that their is an overall forward progression with each season focused on a specific part. This results in focus on each area and ultimately they all come together quite nicely. Also, the series is divided into spartacus' related scenes and the roman leaders etc related scenes, developing both sides, side by side, throughout. This not only makes it easy to develop a large number of characters, it also develops both sides and not making it plain black and white. It makes things more interesting, and makes some outcomes way more satisfying. There are A LOT of characters t...