Skip to main content

Fant4stic (2015) - Movie Review


Oh boy, finally got to see this popular flop. And yeah, it is bad.

The most important thing in a movie like this i.e team dynamic and chemistry was almost non existent. Whatever stuff they tried to develop felt forced and lame, only thing that I somewhat liked was Ben and Reed chemistry. The acting was somewhat serviceable but what they had to work with was bad, so in turn they ended up looking lame, even though there was some talent here, especially Myles Teller. I think he would have made a pretty good reed if he had gotten something better to work with.

The story and its pacing were shit. Horribly edited. Some stuff happens, then some other stuff, then some other, all in a rushed and poorly executed way and you're just sitting there thinking, what are they going for here. The finale was also pretty lame. Hardly any fight and bam, its over. They jam in famous lines of these heroes there and it all just felt like a disaster.

Atleast you would expect CGI to be good. But it was very inconsistent. Some scenes were pretty OK while others were laughably bad. The Thing sometimes looked serviceable while sometimes he looked way too fake. And they should have atleast put some pants on him. And then there is DOOM. WTF happened with him. He was just FUGLY.

It's funny that the most talked about thing prior to the release of the movie, Black Jhonny, didn't even bother me. They just explained it with Susan being Adopted and I was fine with it as tons of other stuff was much more wrong in the movie.

The movie tried to take itself too seriously. Have some fun for crying out loud. There was only one scene in the movie where I had a chuckle, that's it. Everything else was just forced seriousness, that just ended up being bland and boring. The previous two Fantastic Four movies are much better than this one. Atleast they had some fun with it and Chris Evans was a great Human Torch.

Avoid it.

4/10

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Shin Godzilla (2016) - Movie Review

Shin Godzilla is the newest Godzilla film from Toho, the studio behind the Japanese Godzilla films dating back all the way to 1954. This one is a reboot of the franchise, yet again, for the contemporary Japan and the plot is basically what you'd expect; Godzilla arrives and wreaks havoc, all the while the Government tries to defeat it. Since the original Godzilla was inspired by the effects and scars from the WWII Atomic Bombings on Japan by USA, and how destructive and horrifying that power is, this one is similar and was inspired by the 2011 Japan Earthquake and Tsunami, and the Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant disaster, all the while being disguised in a monster movie. Godzilla in this movie instills a sense of dread and fear as this indestructible monster with the power to lay waste to everything, a biological TERROR, and I really liked that about this movie. The way its proper form looked, particularly the head, was unsettling and that was the movie's intention, so ...

Central Intelligence (2016) - Movie Review

Central Intelligence is sorta of a buddy-spy comedy and it's about an average joe hung up on life over past issues, until he meets up with one of his high school batch mate, and things suddenly turn upside down for him. A movie like this only works if the two leads meld together, and boy oh boy did they ever in this movie. Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart both were excellent in this movie. I loved their chemistry, their banter and their relationship. They clearly seemed to be having a great time in their roles, and as a result, the movie as a whole became a lot more fun. Also, I liked it more that they weren't playing their usual selves. It was just hilarious to see The Rock play this man-child agent, he always manages to bring so much energy into every role. And Kevin Hart dialed back a lot. He was the average joe, the normal guy in this movie and I liked that. You do still get the usual Kevin hart outbursts/moments, in small doses. Aside from these two, there was a...

Spartacus (2010) - TV Series Review (Complete)

Spartacus is a surprising series for me. I first watched it when there were only two seasons out, and back then it was kinda OK for me. Now, after re-watching the first two seasons along with the rest, I found it to be a pretty good series, great even. The series is about Spartacus and how he journey's from being a free man to a gladiator, and then to a leader. The whole series is structured in such a way that their is an overall forward progression with each season focused on a specific part. This results in focus on each area and ultimately they all come together quite nicely. Also, the series is divided into spartacus' related scenes and the roman leaders etc related scenes, developing both sides, side by side, throughout. This not only makes it easy to develop a large number of characters, it also develops both sides and not making it plain black and white. It makes things more interesting, and makes some outcomes way more satisfying. There are A LOT of characters t...